CALL : 414-270-0202

What are the degrees of sexual assault of a child?  Contact our sexual assault defense attorneys to learn more.  (414) 270-0202.

There are two degrees of sexual assault of a child.  Both levels of this offense are felonies and both will result in sex offender registration upon conviction.  Certainly these facts in and of themselves should encourage you to hire a skilled criminal defense lawyer to fight your case.  At Meyer Van Severen, S.C. you’ll find our entire staff consists of aggressive, strong, intelligent criminal defense lawyers prepared to fight on your behalf.

Prosecutors aggressively pursue sexual assault of a child cases in Wisconsin.  We believe hiring experienced counsel is key to countering an aggressive prosecution.  We’ve handled charges like this before and we’ve achieved good results for clients.  These cases are not easy, and should not be dealt with by the cheapest attorney you can find.  Cheap cost will get you cheap representation.

To begin speaking with us regarding your child sex crime case, contact Meyer Van Severen, S.C. immediately.  Our criminal defense lawyers are available 24/7 and certainly want to begin fighting your case.


What is sexual assault of a child?

First and second degree sexual assault of a child are both felonies in Wisconsin.

First degree sexual assault of a child is prohibited by Section 948.02(1) of the Wisconsin Statutes.  This crime is either a Class A felony or a Class B felony.

First degree sexual assault of a child

First degree sexual assault of a child is a Class A felony when the defendant has sexual intercourse or contact with an individual who has not attained the age of 13 years old, and causes great bodily harm to the victim.  This crime is prohibited by Section 948.02(1)(am) of the Wisconsin Statutes.

The crime is a Class B felony when any of the following apply:

  • Firstly, the defendant has sexual intercourse with an individual under 12 years old; or
  • By threat of force or violence, the defendant has sexual intercourse with an individual under 16 years old; or
  • By threat of force or violence, the defendant has sexual contact with an individual under 16 years old, if the defendant is over 18 years old; or
  • Finally, the defendant has sexual contact or intercourse with an individual under 13 years old.

Certainly the legislature made clear which charges carry the most significant penalties: those allegedly conducted against young children causing great bodily harm.

Second degree sexual assault of a child

Second degree sexual assault of a child is prohibited by section 948.02(2) of the Wisconsin Statutes.  This crime is a Class C felony.  It’s committed when an individual has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with an individual under 16 years old.

Finally, marriage is not a defense to sexual assault of a child.  Further, whether the victim is dead or alive when the sexual intercourse or contact occurred is not a defense.


free consultation client testimonials

Contact Meyer Van Severen, S.C. for sexual assault of a child defense

There are only a handful of Class A felonies in Wisconsin.  The penalty you face for that penalty, again, is life in prison.  Sometimes individuals talk about fighting for their lives.  While a disorderly conduct charge might not be fighting for your life, a sexual assault of a child charge certainly is.  There’s no doubt about that.

At Meyer Van Severen, S.C. we dedicate our entire practice to criminal defense.  And by dedicated, we mean 100%.  We focus all our resources on defending individuals with charges just like yours.  And we don’t do family law.  We won’t draft that contract.  But when you’re fighting for your life, we’re at your side.  We have your back when it feels like nobody else does.

Finally, for that very reason we respond to phone calls 24/7.  Reach out to us at (414) 270-0202 and let’s start fighting your case.